Mary Travers

Just another WordPress.com weblog

All the Flowers Gone Have – a personal tribute to Mary Travers

Tonight I ask where have all the flowers and Connecticut really gone? Mary Travers of Peter, Paul Mary died on Wednesday aged 72, from leukemia at a hospital in Danbury.

An American treasure, an icon, an idol for my generation – Mary was the female singer-songwriter of the trio Peter, Paul and Mary, along with their male colleagues, Peter Yarrow and Noel Paul Stookey. They began in 1961 at the Bitter End (for those of younot recognize the name, this place is a folk music evening in New York's Greenwich Village). The group was the inspiration of manager Albert Grossman, who we were created on a folk super group, while it also manages the international chart toppers, Bob Dylan. Grossman's idea was certainly a good one, like Peter, Paul and Mary came to symbolize American popular music for so many of us the 1960s and from then on.

The trio became one of the most successful folk groups,Singing classics like "500 Miles", "Leaving On A Jet Plane," "Blowin 'in the Wind" and "Where Have All the Flowers Gone?" She also led the epic song of an era and a cause of "If I Had a Hammer" in 1963 March on Washington, DC, where Dr. Martin Luther King, was Jr. 's I Have a Dream speech delivered. Peter, Paul and Mary also won five Grammys and had 13 Top 40 hits. Their songs crossed generations. "Puff, the Magic Dragon said," often disguised messages about drugs and haveMarijuana, they gave a long time ago what it was really about … A dragon! And the children know and love this song to this day.

For me, Peter, Paul and Mary were my college years anthem. As college students, between preppy fraternities / sororities, and burn our bras / draft-card smart, we lived for their music and the beads around his neck. Having them live on campus at Florida State University in my first year in the mid-sixties, we went home to our dorms and collectedin stairwells with our guitars, as we have often. The staircase was allowed groovy echoes that our voices sound so much better – especially for me on the top floor, need all the help I could get! That night, however, as we jingled, taken away, and sang about dragons, flowers, and hammers, little we knew that Mary had brought to our modest infirmary.

The campus grapevine, however, worked mysteriously, so we quickly found out and rushed there with candles and hold togetherour breath waiting for word. Mary had collapsed from exhaustion was the report that we received, but maintained the rumor (and I say rumor) that she had a miscarriage.

Your music and Mary's song in particular peppered my life in my early adulthood in a hood. Travelling to the College to Canada with my best friend, my cousin, and his best friend, PP & M and John Denver was on the 8-track! This was a joyful journey soaring – take it also you always want it to mean, —to me this trip was pure bliss! Little did I know then that I would lose not only the best friend but also my cousin both brain tumor, all within the last few months. So it is not surprising, or almost surprising in some ways to me, that Mary Travers now has cancer and we lost died for all. Not surprising, but oh so heartbreaking.

Tonight I'll probably pull the dust of my old guitar away what John Denver taught me, in his interpretation of "TheOld Guitar, "that:

"This Old Guitar taught me to sing a love song

It showed me how to laugh and how to cry

He led me to some friends of mine

And brightened up some days

It helped him through a lonely night,

Oh, what a friend on a cold and lonely night "

John Denver, also gone, now has hit a few years later by Peter, Paul and Mary 's' Leaving On A Jet Plane ", one of my favorites.

The words say so much to many, butespecially for me and today especially in the evening. My guitar and the music is associated with the music-Denver, and Joan Baez, but especially Peter, Paul and Mary spoke to me in those years and in the years which and to this day since. Their music has taught me how to laugh and to cry, such as ". And tonight I cry. I weep for the loss of a great lady who meant so much for so many. But I also know their music will live on and that is to bring to life all of us some peace peace is what you all were in favor Maryand want to be her legacy.

I hope you get pleasure from a pair of Peter, Paul and Mary's songs …. and my favorites! Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts and if you have some time, you hear something of this wonderful music, you will not regret it.

And I'll leave you with the words airplane jet Mary sang in "Leaving On A"

"Now the time has come to leave you

One more time let me kiss you

Then close your eyes, sick to myWay.

Dream about the days to come "

Peace.

April 30, 2010 - Posted by | Mary Travers Articles | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

